I have a very interesting year-end experience that made me reflect about how I have so far projected myself to the people I regularly worked with. I am aware that I have short temper, which made me say things I shouldn’t have. I was in fact advised by one colleague to watch my temper as I have already hurt the feelings of my colleagues in several occasions. I am thankful of the advice and one of my important new year’s resolution is to be a bit more patient and sensitive about how others feel. And I am sincerely sorry to those whose feelings I have hurt. I didn’t mean to hurt people. I just have a wrong way of expressing my passion for work.

But my experience today is quite different.

While I was having my morning walk with our pet dog, I had an encounter with a man who I recognized to be a Comelec employee from the main office. Our short conversation went this way:

Me:    Kumusta na po kayo?

Him: Mabuti naman po ako.

(There was a momentary pause)

Him: Para pong nagkita na tayo. Saan po kaya tayo maaaring nagkita?

Me:    Marahil po sa Manila.

(Again, there was a pause)

Me:    Baka po sa Comelec.

Him: Sa main office?

Me:    Baka nga po doon.

Him:  Palagi po ba kayo sa Comelec.

Me:    Opo. Marami po kasi akong trabaho doon

(Another pause, he appeared to be feeling awkward)

Him:  Kayo po ba si Comm. Guia?

Me:    Opo.

Him:  Pasensya na po kayo. Baka po sa gamot ko. Low-profile po kasi kayo

Me:    Okay lang po. Pareho naman po tayong empleyado sa Comelec na may kanya kanyang naka assigned na trabaho ……..

I then also felt awkward, not sure if it was proper for me to have engaged the man in the aforesaid conversation and not telling him who I was right away. But the experience got me to reflect about how my co-workers look at me, or whether I am actually doing my work well…..

Siguro trabaho lang nga talaga….